Is CBD Vegan Friendly?

Is CBD Vegan Friendly?

We’re at the end of Veganuary, and some of you might be wondering if you can keep your new animal-friendly lifestyle going beyond the end of the month. But what would that mean for your CBD routine?

While the vast majority of CBD products are vegan (ours included) there are some CBD product types that aren’t vegan-friendly. This might not be immediately obvious, so it’s important to check the labels before you buy if you’re committed to a cruelty-free lifestyle.

Let’s explore what makes CBD vegan and how to spot vegan-friendly CBD products on the shelves and online.

Is CBD vegan-friendly?

CBD is a plant-based product, so it should – in theory – be completely vegan. But since it is often added to carrier oils, gummy sweets and capsules, there is the risk of non-vegan ingredients making their way into the finished product. 

These ingredients aren’t always obvious, so it’s important to read the labels carefully and ask questions if you are unsure about the contents.

The majority of common carrier oils are completely vegan. This includes MCT oil, hemp seed oil and olive oil. If the only ingredients listed on your product are CBD and one of these carrier oils, then you can be confident the product is vegan.

However, if you’re using CBD edibles, there is a chance that your product might not be free from animal-based ingredients.

Are CBD gummies vegan?

It is possible to make CBD gummies from vegan-friendly ingredients, but many will be made from gelatine. Our CBD Jelly Domes and CBD Plus Gummies are made from 100% plant-based ingredients, so you can enjoy them while following a vegan lifestyle.

If you’re unsure if your CBD gummies are vegan, check the ingredients list for items including gelatine and beeswax. 

Are CBD capsules vegan?

CBD capsules can be made vegan, but the outer casing can also be made with animal-derived products. Some are also coated in a Shellac coating, which gives them a shiny finish. 

Shellac is an excretion from a type of Asian beetle. While it should be possible to extract this product without harming the beetles, the reality is that many are harmed during the extraction process.

Capsules can also be made from gelatine, which is an animal product and therefore not vegan. If in doubt, check the ingredients list and ask the seller to confirm if the product is vegan-friendly.

Our CBD capsules are 100% plant-based as the capsule is made from a type of plant cellulose.

How can CBD help with a vegan lifestyle?

When transitioning to a vegan lifestyle, you might have to make some big changes to your diet. A daily CBD supplement can help you to maintain an overall sense of wellness.

It is a very mindful supplement that encourages you to check in with your body and consider how you are feeling.

Often the biggest challenge individuals will face when switching to a vegan diet and lifestyle is ensuring they get enough vitamins and minerals from their diet. It’s important to make sure you are getting enough protein, iron, vitamin B12, vitamin D and more.

By adding CBD to your daily routine, you can support your body to achieve homeostasis or balance. You’ll also be more aware of your body and how you are feeling.

Can I add CBD to vegan food and drink?

Absolutely! We’re big fans of combining CBD with our favourite meals, snacks and drinks. It’s a simple way to support your body and nourish yourself at the same time.

Check out our recipe section for inspiration for your next vegan CBD creation. A lot of our CBD recipes can easily be made vegan with a few ingredient substitutions.
Back to blog